Pumpkin pie

So I accidentally deleted an old post for pumpkin pie :/ so here I am ‘re blogging 🙂

So last year was my first time selling pies for thanksgiving and I tried by making $8 pies. Turns out people couldn’t resist a homemade pie for $8. And I’m sure glad because I had a blast making them. It was exhausting and to be honest, I was a little nervous that I wouldn’t have enough space to store them! Thankfully it all worked out! Hopefully by the end of the year I will have a fridge just for my baked goods!

Pies ❤

image

image

So first I made the pie shell. If you have never made a pie shell…well it’s simple yet complicated.
Only a few key ingredients, but overmix and you have a mediocre shell. So if your first one is too tough, too sticky, falling apart when you roll it etc., don’t worry! It happens. It’s never too late to re start a crust. (But if it’s just for home.. I just go with the flow and see how it comes out )

You live and you learn 🙂

Pie crust: found on chow.com
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon fine salt
1 teaspoon granulated sugar
8 tablespoons cold unsalted butter (1 stick), cut into small pieces
4 to 5 tablespoons ice water

1. Combine the flour, salt, and sugar in a large bowl and stir briefly until the mixture is aerated. Using a pastry blender or your fingers, cut the butter into the dry ingredients until it’s in pea-size pieces that are slightly yellow in color, about 4 to 5 minutes.

2. Drizzle in 4 tablespoons of the ice water and mix just until the dough comes together. (Add the last tablespoon of ice water if necessary, but don’t overwork the dough or it’ll become tough.)

3. Shape the dough into a flat disk, cover it in plastic wrap, and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes, then use it in the pie or tart recipe of your choice.

Pumpkin puree.. well this recipe came from my culinary textbook. And I’m currently in bed as it’s 2:25 am and I have class at 8! So… I will get the pumpkin puree updated as soon as I get a chance to get my book out and look!

Leave a Reply

